Mancs GradSchool & to tell or not to tell?

A while ago I was away 4 days at the Manchester Grad School 2012 (1-4 May 2012), it was a great experience, an extremely well organised event, an opportunity to meet lots of other PhD students doing interesting research in so many different fields, and to hear from already well-established academics such as Gillian Mawson (@Guernseyevacuee) and Inger Mewburn (@thesiswhisperer) and their view on public engagement and social media (respectively) and impact in general.

I felt generally well, tired, yes definitely but well. I also found it difficult to stop at the end of each day as after hearing and doing so many interesting things, and meeting and speaking to so many people my brain struggled to let go and allow me to fall asleep.

Outcome of the GradSchool week: blog, tweet and don’t be afraid of saying yes to less planned (and sometimes less “academic”) invitations as these can open new and exciting doors!

On the pregnancy side of things… as my tummy was still quite small at the time nobody could tell I was pregnant, which left me in various situations of should I tell? Why would I tell? I only told very few people and sometimes I felt a relief for being able to say it. Actually I think I started writing this blog because we decided not to tell anyone (family & friends) until the week 13 scan and I needed to tell somebody about it, I needed to get it out: the (double) happiness, the frustrations, the aches, etc….

Leave a Reply

